Jimmy Smith – Root Down (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Root Down is a 1972 live jazz album by Jimmy Smith, released on the Verve label.

Allmusic awarded the album 5 stars and reviewer Stephen Thomas Erlewine wrote “…the album captures a performance Smith gave with a relatively young supporting band who were clearly influenced by modern funk and rock. They push Smith to playing low-down grooves that truly cook: “Sagg Shootin’ His Arrow” and “Root Down (And Get It)” are among the hottest tracks he ever cut…There are times where the pace slows, but the tension never sags, and the result is one of the finest, most exciting records in Smith’s catalog. If you think you know everything about Jimmy Smith, this is the album for you.”

Track listing:

“Introduction” (Hidden Track) – 2:07
“Sagg Shootin’ His Arrow” [Unedited version] – 11:45
“For Everyone Under the Sun” – 5:55
“After Hours” – 7:51
“Root Down (And Get It)” [Unedited version] – 12:39
“Let’s Stay Together” – 6:27
“Slow Down Sagg” [Unedited version] – 10:22
“Root Down (And Get It)” [Previously unissued alternative version] – 12:13

Jimmy Smith – Hammond B3 organ
Paul Humphrey – drums
Wilton Felder – bass guitar
Buck Clarke – congas, percussion
Arthur Adams – guitar
Steve Williams – harmonica


Released: 1972
Recorded: February 8, 1972 at the Bombay Bicycle Club, Los Angeles
Length: 67:08 (remastered version)
Label Verve V-8806