Jimmy Smith – Six Views of Blues (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Six Views of the Blues is an album by American jazz organist Jimmy Smith featuring performances recorded in 1958 but not released on the Blue Note label until 1999. Originally the single “The Swingin’ Shepherd Blues” was released in 1958 as Blue Note 45-1711.

“Fantastic studio material from Jimmy’s best period on Blue Note! The CD features 6 unreleased tracks – all recorded in 1958, but never issued until now, for some insanely stupid reason! ” – DustyGroove.

“This is quite an unusual date for Jimmy Smith during his Blue Note years. He leads a quartet with baritone saxophonist Cecil Payne, guitarist Kenny Burrell and either Art Blakey or Donald Bailey on drums, one of the rare occasions he didn’t use Lou Donaldson during this period. Except for a remake of Moe Koffman’s hit “Swingin’ Shepherd Blues,” the remaining music remained unreleased until 1999, possibly because of minor sound flaws and the all-blues play list, according to reissue producer Michael Cuscuna. Regardless, this is great music that needs to be explored. Smith is still the master when it comes to slow blues on his instrument, and both Payne and Burrell contribute strong solos, especially during an extended “St. Louis Blues.” Smith’s four original blues are also very enjoyable. Because this release is a limited edition, pick it up before it disappears for good.” – Ken Dryden/AllMusic.

“Greeeezy! Organist Jimmy Smith never made a bad record for Blue Note. A couple of his Verve recordings are stinkers, but still have some merit. But his Blue Note Recordings, well, they are the epitome of B-3 Hard Bop. That is why the revelation of previously unreleased Blue Note Sides is such a sunny event.” – Michael Bailey/AllAboutJazz.

Track listing:
St. Louis Blues” (W. C. Handy) – 8:38
The Swingin’ Shepherd Blues” (Moe Koffman) – 3:55
Blues No. 1” (Jimmy Smith) – 6:25
Blues No. 3” (Jimmy Smith) – 7:10
Blues No. 4” (Jimmy Smith) – 10:45
Blues No. 2” (Jimmy Smith) – 9:00

Jimmy Smith – organ
Cecil Payne – baritone saxophone
Kenny Burrell – guitar
Donald Bailey – drums (tracks 4-6),
Art Blakey – drums (tracks 1-3)


Released: 1999
Recorded: July 16, 1958
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ
Length: 45:53
Label: Blue Note
Producer: Alfred Lion