Jim Hall – By Arrangement (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Long acclaimed for his understated lyrical approach to the guitar, Jim Hall’s diverse arrangements on this CD are also first-class” (Ken Dryden, AllMusic).

Track listing:
00:00 Django (Composed by John Lewis)
08:36 Waltz For Debby (Composed by Bill Evans; Lyrics by Gene Lees)
13:41 Ruby, My Dear (Thelonious Monk)
19:08 Goodbye (Gordon Jenkins)
27:37 Art Song (Jim Hall)
33:54 October Song (Jim Hall)
40:37 Wendy (Paul Desmond)
48:15 The Wind (Russ Freeman; Jerry Gladstone)


Jim Hall – guitar
Scott Colley – bass
Terry Clarke – drums
Pat Metheny – guitar (Track 1)
The New York Voices [unspecified] (2,8)
Tom Harrell – flugelhorn (3,5,7,9)
Joe Lovano – clarinet, soprano saxophone (4)
Greg Osby – alto saxophone (8)

Brass Section (Tracks 3,5,7,9):
Jamie Finegan – trumpet
Lew Soloff – trumpet
Alex Brofsky – French Horn (Solo on Whisper Not, track 9)
Jim Pugh – conductor, trombone (Solos on Ruby, My Dear & Whisper Not, tracks 3 & 9)
Conrad Herwig – trombone
Marcus Rojas – utba (Solo on Ruby, My Dear, track 3)

Strings Section (Tracks 1,4 and 6)
Paul Hostetter – conductor
Violas – Louise Schulman (principal), Ronald Carbone, Stephanie Fricker, Maureen Gallagher, Ronald Lawrence, Ann Roggen.
Cello – Myron Lutzke (principal), Rosalyn Clarke, Richard Locker, Eugene Moye, Maxine Neuman, Richard Sher.


Released: September 29, 1998
Duration: 01:00:19
Recorded: January 12, 1998 – March 15, 1998
Recording Location:
Clinton Recording, New York, NY