Jack DeJohnette – The DeJohnette Complex (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The DeJohnette Complex is the debut album by Jack DeJohnette featuring Bennie Maupin, Stanley Cowell, Miroslav Vitous, Eddie Gómez, and Roy Haynes recorded in 1968 and released on the Milestone label in 1969.

“Drummer Jack DeJohnette’s debut as a leader (which has been reissued on CD) has quite a bit of variety. The music ranges from advanced swinging to brief free improvisations and some avant-funk. DeJohnette (who doubles on melodica) is joined by Bennie Maupin (on tenor and flute), keyboardist Stanley Cowell, bassists Miroslav Vitous and Eddie Gomez, and drummer Roy Haynes. He uses six different combinations of musicians on the eight songs (five of his originals, John Coltrane’s “Miles’ Mode,” Cowell’s “Equipoise” and Vitous’ “Mirror Image”). Intriguing and generally successful music.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic .

Track listing:
“Equipoise” (Stanley Cowell) – 3:58
“The Major General” (Jack DeJohnette) – 6:34
“Miles’ Mode” (John Coltrane) – 6:36
“Requiem Number 1” (Jack DeJohnette) – 2:21
“Mirror Image” (Miroslav Vitous) – 5:08
“Papa, Daddy and Me”(Jack DeJohnette) – 7:53
“Brown, Warm and Wintry” (Jack DeJohnette) – 5:02
“Requiem Number 2” (Jack DeJohnette) – 1:41

Recorded at Dandon Productions, New York on December 26 and 27, 1968

Jack DeJohnette – drums, melodica
Bennie Maupin – tenor saxophone, wood flute, flute
Stanley Cowell – electric piano, piano
Miroslav Vitous – bass
Eddie Gómez – bass
Roy Haynes – drums, percussion


Released: 1969
Recorded: December 26 & 27, 1968
Length: 39:13
Label: Milestone
Producer: Orrin Keepnews & Dick Katz