J. J. Johnson – Blue Trombone (Reissue)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Blue Trombone is an LP by J. J. Johnson. An early example of hard bop, the album features pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Max Roach. The album was released on Columbia Records in 1957 and was reissued on CD by Tristar in 1994.

“This is an excellent quartet LP (not yet reissued on CD) that really showcases great trombonist J.J. Johnson. Accompanied by pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Max Roach, Johnson alternates standards such as “Hello, Young Lovers” and “Gone with the Wind” with originals, including the two part “Blue Trombone,” and shows listeners why he is still considered one of the greatest jazz trombonists of all time.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.



Track listing  (reissue with bonus tracks):
Hello Young Lovers
What’s New
Blue Trombone
Gone With The Wind
100 Proof
Our Love Is Here To Stay
Portrait Of Jenny
Pennies From Heaven
You’re Mine, You
Daylie Double

J.J. Johnson – trombone
Tommy Flanagan – piano (tracks 1 – 7)
Paul Chambers – bass (tracks 1 – 6, 8 – 13)
Max Roach – drums (tracks 1 – 6)
Wilbur Little – bass (track 7)
Elvin Jones – drums (track 7)
Horace Silver – piano (tracks 8 – 13)
Kenny Clarke – drums (tracks 8 – 13)
Hank Mobley – tenor sax (tracks 9 – 13)


Released: 1957
Recorded: April 26, 1957
Label: Columbia