J. J. Johnson – Blue Trombone (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Blue Trombone is an album by J. J. Johnson. An early example of hard bop, the album features pianist Tommy Flanagan, bassist Paul Chambers and drummer Max Roach. The album was originally released on Columbia Records in 1957 and was reissued on CD by Tristar in 1994.

“This is an excellent quartet LP  that really showcases great trombonist J.J. Johnson” (Scott Yanow, AllMusic).

Track listing:
Hello, Young Lovers (Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II)
Kev (J.J. Johnson)
What’s New (Bob Haggart, Johnny Burke)
Blue Trombone (Part 1) (J.J. Johnson)
Blue Trombone (Part 2) (J.J. Johnson)
Gone with the Wind (Allie Wrubel, Herbert Magidson)
100 Proof (J.J. Johnson)

J.J. Johnson – trombone
Tommy Flanagan – piano (tracks 1 – 7)
Paul Chambers – bass (tracks 1 – 6)
Max Roach – drums (tracks 1 – 6)
Wilbur Little – bass (track 7)
Elvin Jones – drums (track 7)

Released: 1957
Recorded: 1957
Label: Columbia