Illinois Jacquet On Prestige – Bottoms Up (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Bottoms Up is an album by jazz saxophonist Illinois Jacquet which was recorded in 1968 and released on the Prestige label.

“Even in 1968 when the jazz avant-garde was becoming quite influential, tenor saxophonist Illinois Jacquet played in his own timeless style, performing in an idiom little changed during the previous 20 years. With the assistance of pianist Barry Harris, bassist Ben Tucker, and drummer Alan Dawson, Jacquet is heard throughout this CD reissue (which adds a previously unissued “Don’t Blame Me” to the original program) swinging hard and generally expressing himself in a typically extroverted fashion. “Bottoms Up” (a relative of “Flying Home”), “Jivin’ with Jack the Bellboy,” and Jacquet’s excellent original ballad “You Left Me All Alone” are most memorable.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Bottoms Up” (Illinois Jacquet) – 3:21
“Port of Rico” (Illinois Jacquet) – 4:12
“You Left Me All Alone” (Illinois Jacquet) – 3:51
“Sassy” (Milt Buckner) – 5:41
“Jivin’ with Jack the Bellboy” (Bill Doggett, Illinois Jacquet) – 5:40
“I Don’t Stand a Ghost of a Chance with You” (Bing Crosby, Ned Washington, Victor Young) – 6:12
“Our Delight” (Tadd Dameron) – 5:28

Illinois Jacquet – tenor saxophone
Barry Harris – piano
Ben Tucker – bass
Alan Dawson – drums


Released: 1968
Recorded: March 26, 1968
New York City
Label: Prestige
PR 7575
Producer: Don Schlitten