Illinois Jacquet – Soul Explosion

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Soul Explosion is an album by jazz saxophonist Illinois Jacquet which was recorded in 1969 and released on the Prestige label.

The Allmusic review by Scott Yanow awarded the album 4½ stars and stated “This blues-based set is full of soul but often swings quite hard with the focus on Jacquet’s exciting tenor throughout”.

Track listing:
“The Soul Explosion” (Gladys Bruce) – 9:17
“After Hours” (Mark Gordon, Erskine Hawkins, Avery Parrish) – 7:30
“St. Louis Blues” (W. C. Handy) – 3:06
“I’m a Fool to Want You” (Joel Herron, Frank Sinatra, Jack Wolf) – 8:53
“The Eighteenth Hole” (Bruce) – 3:30
“Still King” (Frank Foster, Illinois Jacquet) – 4:07 Bonus track on CD reissue

Illinois Jacquet – tenor saxophone
Russell Jacquet, Joe Newman, Ernie Royal – trumpet
Matthew Gee – trombone
Frank Foster – tenor saxophone
Cecil Payne – baritone saxophone
Milt Buckner – organ, piano, arranger
Wally Richardson – guitar
Al Lucas – bass, electric bass
Al Foster – drums
Jimmy Mundy – arranger


Released: 1968
Recorded: March 25, 1969
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey
Length: 36:23
Label: Prestige
PR 7629
Producer: Don Schlitten