Ike Quebec – Soul Samba (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Soul Samba (aka Bossa Nova Soul Samba) is an album by American saxophonist Ike Quebec recorded in 1962 and released on the Blue Note label. It was Quebec’s final recording before his death in January 1963.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
This was veteran tenor saxophonist Ike Quebec’s final recording as a leader. It was cut in October 1962 and produced by Alfred Lion a little more than three months before the saxophonist’s death. Bossa Nova Soul Samba was recorded and released during the bossa nova craze, as Brazilian music was first brought to the attention of pop listeners via Stan Getz and Charlie Byrd’s smash hit with Tom Jobim’s “Desafinado,” on their Jazz Samba record for Verve in February. After that, seemingly everyone was making a bossa nova record. Quebec’s effort is a bit unusual in that none of the musicians (guitarist Kenny Burrell, bassist Wendell Marshall, drummer Willie Bobo, and percussionist Garvin Masseaux) was associated with Brazilian (as opposed to Afro-Cuban) jazz before this, and that there isn’t a single tune written by Jobim on the set. Quebec emphasizes warm, long tones (reminiscent of Coleman Hawkins in a romantic fashion), and his sidemen play light and appealing but nonetheless authoritative bossa rhythms. Standout tracks here include Burrell’s own “Loie,” which opens the disc, “Goin’ Home,” based on a tune by classical composer Antonin Dvorák and arranged by Quebec — he does the same with “Liebestraum” two tunes later — and the stunning “Favela,” by the crack composing team of Joraci Camargo and Heckel Tavares. The result is high-quality melodic Brazilian dance music with Burrell shining in particular.

Track listing:
All compositions by Ike Quebec except as indicated
“Loie” (Kenny Burrell) – 3:10
“Lloro Tu Despedida” (Facundo Cabral, Joraci Camargo, Emanuel Lacordaire) – 3:01
“Goin’ Home” (Antonín Dvořák, William Arms Fisher) – 5:39
“Me ‘n You” – 5:58
“Liebesträume” (Franz Liszt) – 3:42
“Shu Shu” (Antonio Almeida, Carlos Monteiro DeSouza) – 3:31
“Blue Samba” – 5:18
“Favela” (Joraci Camargo, Heckel Tavares) – 4:00
“Linda Flor” (Henrique Vogeler) – 3:28

Ike Quebec – tenor saxophone
Kenny Burrell – guitar
Wendell Marshall – bass
Willie Bobo – drums
Garvin Masseaux – chekere

Released: 1962
Recorded: October 5, 1962
Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs
Length: 37:47
Label: Blue Note
BST 84114
Producer: Alfred Lion