Horace Silver – 6 Pieces of Silver

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


6 Pieces of Silver is a studio album by jazz pianist Horace Silver released on the Blue Note label in 1957 featuring performances by Silver with Donald Byrd, Hank Mobley, Doug Watkins and Louis Hayes.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
The first classic album by the Horace Silver Quintet, this set is highlighted by “Señor Blues” and “Cool Eyes.” The early Silver quintet of 1956 was essentially the Jazz Messengers of the year before, with trumpeter Donald Byrd, tenor saxophonist Hank Mobley, and bassist Doug Watkins (while drummer Louis Hayes was in Blakey’s place), but already the band was starting to develop a sound of its own. “Señor Blues” officially put Horace Silver on the map, and the album is a hard bop and gospel-tinged jazz gem. [Some reissues add bonus tracks, including two additional versions of “Señor Blues,” including a later vocal rendition by Bill Henderson] (http://www.allmusic.com/album/6-pieces-of-silver-mw0000099574).

Track listing:
All tracks written by Horace Silver, except where noted.

1. “Cool Eyes” 5:55
2. “Shirl” 4:16
3. “Camouflage” 4:25
4. “Enchantment” 6:22
5. “Señor Blues” 7:01
6. “Virgo” 5:49
7. “For Heaven’s Sake” (Elise Bretton, Sherman Edwards, Donald Meyer) 5:09

Horace Silver – piano
Donald Byrd – trumpet (tracks 1, 3-6 & 8-10)
Hank Mobley – tenor saxophone (tracks 1, 3-6 & 8)
Junior Cook – tenor saxophone (tracks 9 & 10)
Doug Watkins – bass (tracks 1-8)
Gene Taylor – bass (tracks (tracks 9 & 10)
Louis Hayes – drums
Bill Henderson – vocals (track 10)


Released: January 1957
Recorded: November 10, 1956 (#1-8)
November 15, 1958 (#9-10)
Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack
Length: 38:56
Label: Blue Note
Producer: Alfred Lion