Horace Silver – The Stylings of Silver

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Stylings of Silver is an album by jazz pianist Horace Silver released on the Blue Note label in 1957 featuring performances by Silver with Art Farmer, Hank Mobley, Teddy Kotick, and Louis Hayes.

“All of Silver’s Blue Note quintet recordings are consistently superb and swinging and, although not essential, this is a very enjoyable set.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.



Track listing:
All compositions by Horace Silver except as indicated
“No Smokin'” – 5:33
“The Back Beat” – 6:23
“Soulville” – 6:16
“Home Cookin'” – 6:28
“Metamorphosis” – 7:18
“My One and Only Love” – (Robert Mellin, Guy Wood) – 6:59

Horace Silver – piano
Art Farmer – trumpet
Hank Mobley – tenor saxophone
Teddy Kotick – bass
Louis Hayes – drums


Released: 1957
Recorded: May 8, 1957
Van Gelder Studio, Hakensack, NJ
Length: 57:57
Label: Blue Note
Producer: Alfred Lion