Freddie Hubbard – Super Blue (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Super Blue is a 1978 album by jazz trumpeter Freddie Hubbard. It was originally released on the Columbia label and peaked at #6 on the Billboard Charts. The album features performances by Hubbard, Hubert Laws, Joe Henderson and Kenny Barron with George Benson guesting on one track. In 2007 the album was rereleased on the Mosaic Contemporary label with three alternate takes.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
After several terrible sellout albums for Columbia, Freddie Hubbard attempted to rekindle some of the magic from his CTI years on this small-group date. With such CTI alumni as flutist Hubert Laws, tenor man Joe Henderson, and even guitarist George Benson (on one selection) helping out, Hubbard showed that he still had the chops (if not necessarily the creativity) to continue being a major jazz trumpeter. Unfortunately, his career became pretty aimless over the following years (

“Hubbard, at the helm, is flawless; a miniaturist in his attention to detail and nuance, an architect in his mastery of form (check the tuneful arc of his solo over “The Surest Things Can Change ) and a pyrotechnician of the first order; his fiery, over-the-speed-limit improvisations on “Take It to the Ozone, “Kareem (both master and alternate take) and the closing vamp of the title cut are as jaw-dropping and finger-popping as anything he’s done.” (AllAboutJazz).

Track listing:

All compositions by Freddie Hubbard except as indicated

“Super Blue” (Benard Ighner) – 7:50
“To Her Ladyship” (Bill Frazier) – 6:01
“Take It To The Ozone” – 7:01
“The Gospel Truth” – 4:59
“The Surest Things Can Change” (Gino Vannelli) – 6:20
“Theme For Kareem” – 6:07

Recorded at CBS Recording Studios, New York, on March 30, 31 & April 1, 4, 1978 by Don Puluse

Freddie Hubbard – trumpet and flugelhorn
Hubert Laws – flutes
Joe Henderson – tenor sax
Ron Carter – bass
Jack DeJohnette – drums
Kenny Barron – keyboards
George Benson – guitar (track 2)
Dale Oehler – keyboards (track 1)


Released: 1978
Recorded: March 30, 31 , April 1 & 4 1978
Label: Columbia
Producer: Dale Oehler