Freddie Hubbard – Backlash (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Backlash is a 1967 album by trumpeter Freddie Hubbard, his first released on the Atlantic label. It features performances by Hubbard, James Spaulding, Albert Dailey, Bob Cunningham, Otis Ray Appleton and Ray Barretto.

“The first of trumpeter Freddie Hubbard’s three Atlantic albums, this excellent set falls between hard bop and the avant-garde, often hinting at both. Hubbard’s regular group of the time (James Spaulding on alto and flute, pianist Albert Dailey, bassist Bob Cunningham, and drummer Otis Ray Appleton, plus guest conga player Ray Barretto) performs the debut version of his famous “Little Sunflower,” an excellent remake of “Up Jumped Spring,” and four lesser-known pieces. Hubbard and Spaulding made for an excellent team and there are plenty of exciting moments on this brief but potent set.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic .

Backlash” (Donald Pickett) – 4:15
The Return of the Prodigal Son” (Harold Ousley) – 5:42
Little Sunflower” (Freddie Hubbard) – 7:55
On the Que-Tee” (Freddie Hubbard) – 5:47
Up Jumped Spring” (Freddie Hubbard) – 6:43
Echoes of Blue” (Bob Cunningham) – 9:44

Freddie Hubbard – trumpet, flugelhorn
James Spaulding – flute, alto saxophone
Albert Dailey – piano
Bob Cunningham – bass
Otis Ray Appleton – drums
Ray Barretto – percussion (tracks 1,2,3)


Released: Early May 1967
Recorded: October 19, 1966 & October 24, 1966
Atlantic Studios, New York City
Length: 40:06
Label: Atlantic
SD 1477
Producer: Arif Mardin