Eddie Jefferson – Things Are Getting Better (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Things Are Getting Better is an album by vocalist Eddie Jefferson recorded in 1974 and released on the Muse label.

“Singer Eddie Jefferson’s first album in five years finds him doing his best to keep up with the times. Somehow he manages to sing Miles Davis’ “Bitches Brew” (a nearly impossible melody to make much out of) and he also performs “Freedom Jazz Dance” and “Trane’s Blues” in addition to more boppish material (including an exuberant “Things Are Getting Better,” “Night In Tunisia” and “Billie’s Bounce”). The Sly Stone tune “Thank You” is the only trivial selection among the eight reissued on this CD while “I Just Got Back In Town” is based on James Moody’s improvisation to the ballad “I Cover The Waterfront.” The master of vocalese (who was at the peak of his powers during this period) is assisted by trumpeter Joe Newman, Billy Mitchell (on tenor, flute and bass clarinet), keyboardist Mickey Tucker, bassist Sam Jones and drummer Eddie Gladden. A worthy effort.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
All lyrics/vocalese composed by Eddie Jefferson

Bitches Brew” (Miles Davis) – 8:46
Things Are Getting Better” (Cannonball Adderley) – 8:24
Freedom Jazz Dance” (Eddie Harris) – 3:57
Night in Tunisia” (Dizzy Gillespie, Frank Paparelli) – 3:13
Trane’s Blues” (John Coltrane) – 4:48
I Just Got Back in Town” (James Moody) – 4:29
Billie’s Bounce” (Charlie Parker) – 4:07
Thank You (Falettinme Be Mice Elf Agin)” (Sly Stone) – 4:09

Eddie Jefferson – vocals
Joe Newman – trumpet
Billy Mitchell – tenor saxophone, flute, bass clarinet
Mickey Tucker – piano, electric piano, organ
Sam Jones – bass
Eddie Gladden – drums


Released: 1974
Recorded: March 5, 1974
Length: 36:26
Label: Muse MR 5043
Producer: Don Schlitten