Dicky Wells – Bones for the King (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Bones for the King is an album by trombonist Dicky Wells which was recorded in 1958 and released on the Felsted label.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
This Affinity Lp draws its material from the short-lived Felsted label. Dicky Wells is heard in an unusual session with fellow trombonists Vic Dickenson, Benny Morton and George Matthews on three songs that fail to live up to their potential; the inclusion of organist Skip Hall does not help and weighs down the ensembles. The other half of the set features Wells with some notable Basie alumni (including trumpeter Buck Clayton, clarinetist Rudy Rutherford and tenorman Buddy Tate) and fortunately on that occasion Skip Hall plays piano. There is some good swing-based music to be heard throughout this album but nothing essential occurs (http://www.allmusic.com/album/mw0000878410).

Track listing:
All compositions by Dicky Wells except where noted.

“Bones for the King” – 6:36
“Sweet Daddy Spo-de-o” – 7:26
“You Took My Heart” (Skip Hall) – 6:01
“Hello Smack!” (Buddy Tate) – 6:20
“Come and Get It” – 8:04
“Stan’s Dance” (Buck Clayton) – 6:35

Dicky Wells – trombone
Buck Clayton – trumpet (tracks 4-6)
Vic Dickenson, George Matthews, Benny Morton – trombone (tracks 1-3)
Rudy Rutherford – clarinet, baritone saxophone (tracks 4-6)
Buddy Tate – tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone (tracks 4-6)
Skip Hall – piano, organ
Everett Barksdale – guitar (tracks 4-6)
Major Holley – bass
Jo Jones – drums

Released: 1958
Recorded: February 3-4, 1958
Studio NYC
Label: Felsted
Producer: Stanley Dance