Count Basie and Joe Turner – The Bosses (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Bosses is a 1973 album by American blues shouter “Big Joe” Turner accompanied by a small group led by Count Basie, recorded in 1973 and released on the Pablo label.

Count Basie and an all-star band (including trumpeter Harry Edison, trombonist J.J. Johnson and the tenors of Eddie Davis and Zoot Sims) back up veteran Kansas City blues singer Big Joe Turner on one of his better later albums. The many fine solos inspire Turner, who is in top form on such tunes as “Night Time Is the Right Time,” “Wee Baby Blues” and “Roll ‘Em Pete.” (Scott Yanow/AllMusic).

“The Honeydripper” (Joe Liggins) – 6:42
“Honey Hush” (Nat King Cole, Big Joe Turner, Lou Willie Turner) – 2:37
“Cherry Red” (Pete Johnson, Big Joe Turner) – 4:42
“Night Time Is the Right Time” (Leroy Carr, Lew Herman) – 3:54
“Blues Around the Clock” (Willie Bryant) – 4:58
“Since I Fell for You” (Buddy Johnson) – 3:55
“Flip, Flop and Fly” (Chuck Calhoun, Lou Willie Turner) – 3:28
“Wee Baby Blues” (Johnson, Big Joe Turner) – 5:37
“Good Morning Blues” (Count Basie, Eddie Durham, Jimmy Rushing) – 3:50
“Roll ‘Em Pete” (Johnson, Turner) – 4:16

Joe Turner – vocals
Count Basie – piano
Ray Brown – double bass
Irving Ashby – guitar
Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis – tenor saxophone
Zoot Sims – tenor saxophone
J.J. Johnson – trombone
Harry “Sweets” Edison – trumpet
Louie Bellson – drums


Released: 1973
Recorded: 1973
Length: 43:59
Label: Pablo
Producer: Norman Granz