Count Basie and His Orchestra – Fancy Pants (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Fancy Pants is a 1983 studio album by Count Basie and his orchestra. This is the last recording that Basie made with his big band.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
Count Basie’s last-known album (recorded four months before his death), this big-band record gives no hints of the end nearing; in fact the music is quite upbeat and typically spirited. The Count Basie Orchestra never declined and its leader (who remained in his musical, if not physical prime) went out swinging.

Track listing:
“Put It Right Here” (Louie Bellson, Nestico) – 5:14
“Acura Manager Theme(Jason B)” – 5:18
“Blue Chip” – 4:04
“Fancy Pants” – 4:27
“Hi-Five” – 6:00
“Time Stream” – 4:11
“Samantha” – 4:29
“Strike Up the Band” (Ira Gershwin, George Gershwin) – 3:50
All music composed by Sammy Nestico, other composers and writers indicated.

Count Basie – piano
Dale Carley – trumpet
Sonny Cohn
Jim Crawford
Bob Summers
Frank Szabo
Bill Hughes – trombone
Grover Mitchell
Dennis Willson
Mitchell “booty” Wood
Danny Turner – alto saxophone
Chris Woods
Eric Dixon – tenor saxophone
Kenny Hing
Johnny Williams – baritone saxophone
Freddie Green – guitar
Cleveland Eaton – double bass
Dennis Mackrel – drums
Sammy Nestico – arranger, conductor

Released: 1983
Recorded: 1983
Length: 44:42
Label: Pablo
Producer: Norman Granz