Cecil Payne – Zodiac

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Zodiac is an album led by saxophonist Cecil Payne recorded in 1968 but not released on the Strata-East label until 1973.

In his review for AllMusic, Ron Wynn called it an “outstanding date”.

Track listing:
All compositions by Cecil Payne

“Martin Luther King, Jr.” – 6:55
“I Know Love” – 2:09
“Girl, You Got a Home” – 10:48
“Slide Hampton” – 4:21
“Follow Me” – 9:16
“Flying Fish” – 12:20

Cecil Payne – baritone saxophone, alto saxophone
Kenny Dorham – trumpet
Wynton Kelly – piano, organ
Wilbur Ware – bass
Albert Kuumba Heath – drums


Released: 1973
Recorded: December 16, 1968
Studio: TownSound Studios, Englewood, NJ
Length: 45:49
Label: Strata-East SES-19734
Producer: Clifford Jordan