Carmen McRae with Dave Brubeck – Take Five Live

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Take Five Live is a 1961 live album by the American jazz singer Carmen McRae, focusing on the songs composed by Dave Brubeck. This was McRae’s second album with Brubeck; their first, Tonight Only with the Dave Brubeck Quartet, was released in 1960.

Track listing:
All tracks composed by Dave Brubeck and Iola Brubeck; except where indicated

“When I Was Young”
“In Your Own Sweet Way”
“Too Young for Growing Old”
“Ode to a Cowboy”
“There’ll Be No Tomorrow”
“Melanctha” (Dave Brubeck, Liz Blake)
“It’s a Raggy Waltz” (Dave Brubeck)
“Oh So Blue” (Dave Brubeck)
“Lord, Lord”
“Travellin’ Blues”
“Take Five” (Paul Desmond, Iola Brubeck)
“Easy as You Go”

Carmen McRae – vocals
The Dave Brubeck Quartet:
Dave Brubeck – piano
Paul Desmond – alto saxophone
Gene Wright – double bass
Joe Morello – drums


Released: 1961
Recorded: September 6, 1961, Basin Street East, New York City
Length: 37:17
Label: Columbia