Cannonball Adderley – Presenting Cannonball

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Presenting Cannonball is the 1955 debut album by American jazz saxophonist Cannonball Adderley, released on the Savoy label, featuring a quintet with Nat Adderley, Hank Jones, Paul Chambers, and Kenny Clarke.

“This set has altoist Cannonball Adderley’s first recordings as a leader, following his memorable appearance on a session headed by drummer Kenny Clarke. Already at this early stage, Adderley was a powerful player with a soulful sound that was almost distinctive. … A very impressive beginning to a memorable career.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
All compositions by Julian “Cannonball” Adderley except where noted.

“Spontaneous Combustion” – 10:06
“Still Talkin’ to Ya” – 8:58
“A Little Taste” – 5:06
Caribbean Cutie” – 7:06
“Flamingo” (Ted Grouya, Edmund Anderson) – 7:06

Cannonball Adderley – alto saxophone
Nat Adderley – cornet
Hank Jones – piano
Kenny Clarke – drums
Paul Chambers – bass


Released: 1955
Recorded: July 14, 1955
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, NJ
Label: Savoy
Producer: Ozzie Cadena