Cannonball Adderley Quintet – At the Lighthouse (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Cannonball Adderley Quintet at the Lighthouse is a live album by jazz saxophonist Cannonball Adderley released on the Riverside label featuring a performance by Adderley with Nat Adderley, Victor Feldman, Sam Jones and Louis Hayes.

“This is a fine all-around set from the Cannonball Adderley Quintet of 1960 with the altoist/leader, cornetist Nat Adderley, pianist Victor Feldman, bassist Sam Jones and drummer Louis Hayes. The fifth of seven LPs reissued by Orrin Keepnews and taken from Adderley’s Riverside years finds his band in top form on the original version of “Sack O’ Woe,” a previously unissued “Our Delight,” Jimmy Heath’s “Big ‘P'” and “Blue Daniel” among others. It’s a strong introduction to the music of this classic hard bop group.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Sack O’ Woe” (Julian “Cannonball” Adderley) – 10:45
“Big ‘P'” (Jimmy Heath) – 5:55
“Blue Daniel” (Frank Rosolino) – 7:31
“Azule Serape” (Victor Feldman) – 9:29
“Exodus” (Feldman) – 7:40
“What Is This Thing Called Love?” (Cole Porter) – 4:48
“Our Delight” (Tadd Dameron) – 6:54
Recorded at the Lighthouse Café, Hermosa Beach, CA on October 16, 1960

Cannonball Adderley – alto saxophone
Nat Adderley – cornet
Victor Feldman – piano
Sam Jones – bass
Louis Hayes – drums


Released: 1960
Recorded: October 16, 1960
Length: 52:30
Label: Riverside
Producer: Orrin Keepnews