Cannonball Adderley – Phenix (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Phenix is an album by jazz saxophonist Cannonball Adderley recorded in 1975 at the Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, California, featuring performances by Adderley’s Quintet with Nat Adderley, Michael Wolff, Walter Booker and Roy McCurdy with guest percussionist Airto Moreira and sessions featuring past Quintet members George Duke, Sam Jones, and Louis Hayes.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
Adderley’s next-to-last recording (cut just four months before he died of a stroke at age 46) was ironically a retrospective of his career. While his then-current group (with cornetist Nat Adderley, keyboardist Mike Wolff, bassist Walter Booker, and drummer Roy McCurdy) was featured on half of this two-LP set (highlighted by “Stars Fell on Alabama,” “74 Miles Away,” and a medley of “Walk Tall” and “Mercy, Mercy, Mercy”), on the remainder of this two-fer the Adderleys welcome back several alumni (keyboardist George Duke, bassist Sam Jones, and drummer Louis Hayes) for new versions of “High Fly,” “Work Song,” “Sack O’Woe,” “Jive Samba,” “This Here,” and “The Sidewalks of New York.” A recommended set with plenty of excellent music, it serves as a fine overview of Cannonball Adderley’s career.

Track listing:
All compositions by Julian “Cannonball” Adderley except as indicated

Hi-Fly” (Randy Weston) – 6:04
“Work Song” (Nat Adderley) – 6:28
Sack O’ Woe” – 5:06
“Jive Samba” (Nat Adderley) – 5:19
“This Here” (Bobby Timmons) – 7:12
“The Sidewalks of New York” (James W. Blake, Charles B. Lawlor) – 5:37
Hamba Nami” – 5:24
“Domination” – 6:55
“74 Miles Away” (Joe Zawinul) – 5:58
“Country Preacher” (Zawinul) – 4:26
“Stars Fell on Alabama” (Mitchell Parish, Frank Perkins) – 5:48
Walk Tall/Mercy, Mercy, Mercy” (Queen Esther Marrow, Jim Rein, Zawinul/Zawinul) – 7:28
Recorded at Fantasy Studios in Berkeley, CA, in February, March & April 1975

Cannonball Adderley – alto saxophone, soprano saxophone
Nat Adderley – cornet
George Duke – keyboards, synthesizers (tracks 1-6)
Michael Wolff – keyboards (tracks 7-12)
Sam Jones – acoustic bass (tracks 1-6)
Walter Booker – acoustic and electric bass (tracks 7-10 & 12)
Louis Hayes – drums (tracks 1-6)
Roy McCurdy – drums (tracks 7-10 & 12)
Airto Moreira – percussion, congas