Budd Johnson – Johnson And The Four Brass Giants (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Budd Johnson and the Four Brass Giants is an album by saxophonist Budd Johnson which was recorded in 1960 and released on the Riverside label.

“This reissue of a Riverside album, which surprisingly has not yet come out on CD, is a classic. The great Budd Johnson, who takes tenor solos throughout the date and also contributes a bit of clarinet in addition to providing the arrangements, is matched with four distinctive and very different trumpeters: Clark Terry, Harry “Sweets” Edison, Nat Adderley and Ray Nance (who doubles on violin). With Tommy Flanagan or Jimmy Jones on piano, bassist Joe Benjamin and drummer Herb Lovelle, the group performs four swing standards and four of Johnson’s swinging originals. The colorful brassmen, Budd’s versatile solos, and the inventive arrangements make this a particularly memorable set. Highly recommended.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“All My Love” (Harry Akst, Saul Chaplin, Al Jolson) – 4:05
“Blue Lou” (Edgar Sampson, Irving Mills) – 5:11
“Driftwood” (Budd Johnson) – 8:08
“Trinity River Bottom” (Budd Johnson) – 4:22
“Blues for Lester” (Budd Johnson) – 6:56
“The Message” (Budd Johnson) – 6:41
“Don’t Blame Me” (Jimmy McHugh, Dorothy Fields) – 4:16
“I’ll Get By” (Fred E. Ahlert, Roy Turk) – 4:33

Budd Johnson – tenor saxophone, arranger
Nat Adderley – cornet
Harry Edison – trumpet
Ray Nance – trumpet, violin
Clark Terry – flugelhorn, trumpet
Tommy Flanagan (tracks 1, 2, 7 & 8), Jimmy Jones (tracks 3-6) piano
Joe Benjamin – bass
Herbie Lovelle – drums


Released: 1960
Recorded: August 22 and September 6, 1960
Studio NYC
Length: 44:15
Label Riverside
RLP 343/RS 9343
Producer: Cannonball Adderley