Brad Mehldau – Songs: The Art of the Trio Volume Three

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Songs: The Art of the Trio Volume Three is an album by American pianist and composer Brad Mehldau released on the Warner Bros. label in 1998.

“The lyrical pianist Brad Mehldau applies his melancholy, Bill Evans/Keith Jarrett-derived approach to a set of five originals plus standards including “Young at Heart,” “For All We Know,” and “Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered,” as well as covers of Nick Drake’s “River Man” and Radiohead’s “Exit Music (For a Film).” The always swinging and tasteful pianist is accompanied by a rhythm section of drummer Jorge Rossy and bassist Larry Grenadier, and overall this is a fine program easily recommended to straight-ahead collectors.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
All compositions by Brad Mehldau except as indicated

“Song-Song” – 6:29
“Unrequited” – 6:07
“Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered” (Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers) – 5:57
“Exit Music (For a Film)” (Radiohead) – 4:23
“At a Loss” – 6:19
“Convalescent” – 5:58
“For All We Know” (J. Fred Coots, Sam M. Lewis) – 7:59
“River Man” (Nick Drake) – 4:47
“Young at Heart” (Carolyn Leigh, Johnny Richards) – 6:20
“Sehnsucht” – 4:56

Brad Mehldau – piano
Larry Grenadier – double bass
Jorge Rossy – drums


Released: September 15, 1998
Recorded: May 27 & 28, 1998
Studio: Right Track, New York City
Length: 59:15
Label: Warner Bros.
Producer: Matt Pierson