Bob Wilber – New Clarinet In Town

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Bob Wilber (born 15 March 1928) is an American jazz clarinetist, saxophonist, and bandleader. Although his scope covers a wide range of jazz, Wilber has been a dedicated advocate of classic styles, working throughout his career to present traditional jazz pieces in a contemporary manner. He played with many distinguished jazz leaders in the 1950s and 1960s, including Bobby Hackett, Benny Goodman, Sidney Bechet, Jack Teagarden and Eddie Condon. In the late 1960s, he was an original member of the World’s Greatest Jazz Band, and in the early 70s of Soprano Summit, a band which gained wide attention. In the late 1970s, he formed the Bechet Legacy Band.

Track listing:

00:00 A1 Swing 39 (Django Rheinhardt)
03:26 A2 The Duke (Dave Brubeck)
09:07 A3 Blame It On My Youth (Oscar Levant)
12:01 A4 Benny Rides Again (Eddie Sauter)

18:57 B1 Django (John Lewis)
24:29 B2 All Too Soon (Duke Ellington)
27:05 B3 Clarinade (Mel Powell)
30:09 B4 Lonely Town (Leonard Bernstein)
33:24 B5 Upper Manhattan Medical Group (Duke Ellington)


Deane Kincaide – arranger, conductor
Bobby Donaldson – bass
Sidney Edwards – cello
Bob Wilber – clarinet
George Duvivier – drums
Tony Miranda – French horn
Charlie Byrd – guitar
Dave McKenna – piano
George Brown – viola
Jesse Tryon – violin [1st]
Peter Dimitriades – violin [2nd]


Label: Classic Jazz ‎– CJ 8
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Released: 1960