Billy Cobham – Crosswinds (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Crosswinds is the second album of fusion drummer Billy Cobham. The album was released in 1974. It comprises four songs, all composed by Billy Cobham.

“Billy Cobham’s second date as a leader was one of his better sessions. Four songs (all originals by the leader/drummer) comprise “Spanish Moss — A Sound Portrait,” and, in addition, Cobham contributed three other pieces. The selections team him with guitarist John Abercrombie, both of the Brecker Brothers, trombonist Garnett Brown, keyboardist George Duke, bassist John Williams, and Latin percussionist Lee Pastora. In general, the melodies and the vamps are reasonably memorable. Cobham also takes an unaccompanied drum solo on “Storm.” Worth searching for by fusion collectors.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic .

Track listing:

Side one
“Spanish Moss – ‘A Sound Portrait'” – 17:08
a. “Spanish Moss” – 4:08
b. “Savannah The Serene” – 5:09
Solos: Garnett Brown & George Duke
c. “Storm” – 2:46
Solo: Billy Cobham
d. “Flash Flood” – 5:05
Solos: Randy Brecker & John Abercrombie
Side two
“The Pleasant Pheasant” – 5:11
Solos: Lee Pastora, Michael Brecker, George Duke & Billy Cobham
“Heather” – 8:25
Solos: George Duke & Michael Brecker
“Crosswind” – 3:39
Solo: John Abercrombie

John Abercrombie – guitars
Michael Brecker – woodwinds
Randy Brecker – trumpet
Garnett Brown – trombone
Billy Cobham – drums, percussion, production, orchestrations
George Duke – keyboards
Lee Pastora – latin percussion
Ken Scott – production, recording and re-mix engineering
John Williams – acoustic & electric basses


Released: 1974
Studio: Electric Lady Studios, New York City,
re-mixed at Trident Recording Studios, London, England.
Length: 35:08
Label: Atlantic
Producer: William E. Cobham, Jr., Ken Scott