Bill Bruford / Bruford – One of a Kind

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


One of a Kind is the second solo album by the drummer Bill Bruford, and the first proper album by his band Bruford. Released in 1979 on EG Records, it is a collection of instrumentals in a style that can loosely be defined as jazz fusion. Bruford features guitarist Allan Holdsworth, bassist Jeff Berlin, and keyboardist Dave Stewart.

The Allmusic review by Dave Connolly awarded the album 4½ stars and stated:”Those who enjoy their fusion with a healthy dose of rock will find One of a Kind a fair match for anything from Return to Forever or Brand X.”



Allan Holdsworth – electric guitar
Dave Stewart – keyboards, synthesizers, electronics
Jeff Berlin – bass guitar
Bill Bruford – drums & percussions, voice of the Mock Turtle (“Fainting in Coils”)


Eddie Jobson – violin (“Forever Until Sunday”)
Anthea Norman Taylor – voice of Alice (“Fainting in Coils”)
Sam Alder – narrator (“Fainting in Coils”)
John Clark – electric guitar (“Manacles”)


Released: June 1979
Recorded: January & February 1979
Studio: Trident Studios, London
Length: 46:28
Label: EG/Polydor
Producer: Bill Bruford