Baden Powell – Seresta Brasileira (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“An excellent Brazilian guitarist, Baden Powell has played with his share of American jazz greats (including Herbie Mann and the late Stan Getz). But there’s no jazz to be found on Seresta Brasiliera, which was recorded for the Brazilian Caju Music label in 1988 and released in the U.S. on Milestone/Fantasy in 1994. The title Seresta Brasiliera translates to “Brazilian serenade,” and an unaccompanied Powell embraces the Brazilian serenade style on personal, introspective versions of Pixinguinha’s “Rosa,” as well as songs he wrote with his frequent partner, the late Vinicius De Moraes (including “Velho Amigo,” “Cancao Do Amor Ausente” and “Serenata Do Adeus”). A melancholy mood defines much of the CD, and Powell’s playing is often as beautiful as it is sad and remorseful. Seresta Brasiliera is an album with little optimism and plenty of soul.” – Alex Henderson/AllMusic.

Track listing:
01 – Rosa (Pixinguinha)
02 – Serenata Do Adeus (Vinícius de Moraes)
03 – Valsa Sem Nome (Baden Powell/Vinícius de Moraes)
04 – Primeiro Amor (Patápio Silva)
05 – Velho Amigo (Baden Powell/Vinícius de Moraes)
06 – O Que Tinha De Ser (Tom Jobim/Vinícius de Moraes)
07 – Chão De Estrelas (Sílvio Caldas/Orestes Barbosa)
08 – Canção Do Amor Ausente (Baden Powell/Vinícius de Moraes)
09 – Revendo O Passado (Lula Freire)
10 – Valsa De Eurídice (Vinícius de Moraes)

Baden Powel – guitar