Zoot Sims Quintet ‎– Zoot!

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Zoot!  is an album by American jazz saxophonist Zoot Sims featuring tracks recorded in 1956 for the Riverside label.

“For a little while in the mid-’50s, Zoot Sims occasionally doubled on alto although he soon switched back exclusively to tenor where he had a stronger musical personality. On the CD reissue of Riverside’s 1956 Zoot!, Sims plays alto on two of the seven tracks and works well with trumpeter Nick Travis. Actually, pianist George Handy, who contributed four originals (two standards and drummer Osie Johnson’s “Osmosis” complete the program) and did all of the arranging, comes across as the key supporting player; bassist Wilbur Ware and Johnson are fine in quiet support. Although Handy’s arrangements are a bit modern, this is still a typically hard-swinging and melodic Zoot Sims date.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Why Cry?” (George Handy) – 5:54
“Echoes of You” (George Handy) – 7:12
“Swim, Jim” (George Handy) – 7:07
“Here and Now” (George Handy) – 4:55
“Fools Rush In (Where Angels Fear to Tread)” (Rube Bloom, Johnny Mercer) – 4:30
“Osmosis” (Osie Johnson) – 4:44
“Taking a Chance on Love” (Vernon Duke, Ted Fetter, John La Touche) – 6:01

Zoot Sims – alto saxophone, tenor saxophone
Nick Travis – trumpet
George Handy – piano, arranger
Wilbur Ware – bass
Osie Johnson – drums


Released: 1957
Recorded: December 13 & 18, 1956
Reeves Sound Studios, New York City
Length: 40:14
Label: Riverside
RLP 12-228
Producer: Orrin Keepnews