Walter Wanderley – Rainforest (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Rain Forest is a 1966 album by Walter Wanderley.

AllMusic Review by Judith Schlesinger:
The notes for this CD ask, “What issue is more topical than the Brazilian rain forest? So what reissue would be more topical than Walter Wanderley’s Rain Forest?” Politically, this may be true, but musically, this collection is anything but topical. From the first tune — the monster hit “Summer Samba,” the listener is catapulted straight back to the ’60s when bossa nova was new in the U.S. and everyone wanted a piece of it. Organist Wanderley made a big splash with this CD, which went platinum in two years — and it does evoke strong water images, like “poolside” and “ice skating rink.” The jazzmen are underutilized, since most of the tracks are less than three minutes long and leave little room to stretch out. One exception is the pretty Ferreira/Marconi ballad “Rain,” the only track where Wanderley plays piano rather than organ and which features a fine solo by Urbie Green on trombone. On “Beach Samba,” Green gets to noodle a bit, but Bucky Pizarelli is heard stating the melody and nothing else. Despite all the sadness implied in the song titles, this CD has a jaunty feel to it and will be best enjoyed by nostalgic fans of that bygone era (

Track listing:
Summer Samba (So Nice)” (Norman Gimbel, Marcos Valle, Paulo Sérgio Valle) – 3:07
It’s Easy to Say Good-Bye” (Tito Madi) – 2:03
Cried, Cried” (Luiz Antonio) – 2:26
Rain” (Durval Ferreira) – 3:48
The Girl from Ipanema” (Norman Gimbel, Antônio Carlos Jobim, Vinícius de Moraes) – 2:38
Beloved Melancholy” (Madi) – 2:42
Taste of Sadness (Luiz Antonio, Ferreira) – 2:54
Bossa Na Praia (Beach Samba)” (Geraldo Cunha, Pery Ribeiro) – 3:54
Call Me” (Tony Hatch) – 2:26
Cry out Your Sadness” (Oscar Castro-Neves) – 2:46
The Great Love” (Jobim) – 3:04
Samba do Avião (Song of the Jet)” (Jobim, Gene Lees) – 2:43

Walter Wanderley – arranger, electronic organ, piano
Claudio Slon – drums
Joe Grimm – flute
Bucky Pizzarelli – guitar
Urbie Green – trombone
Bobby Rosengarden – percussion

Released: September, 1966
Recorded: May 16–17, 1966
Studio Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs
Length: 34:05
Label: Verve V6-8658[1]
Producer Creed Taylor