Trilok Gurtu with Simon Phillips & NDR Bigband – 21 Spices (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Considering that 21 Spices marks Gurtu’s’ first foray into big-band territory, the results are especially impressive. Highly melodic tunes, vibrant arrangements and strong playing all around combine to produce a winning formula. And, as with all the music Gurtu makes, it is utterly distinctive and difficult to hang a name on, but allow yourself to be seduced and it shouldn’t really matter” (Ian Patterson, AllAboutJazz).

Track listing:

All composed by Trilok Gurtu, arranged by Wolf Kerschek
00:00 Peace of Five
09:16 1-2 Beaucoup
14:45 Kuruk Setra
24:28 Balahto
31:05 Broken Rhythms
35:21 Jhulelal
45:41 21 Spices

Alto Saxophone – Fiete Felsch, Peter Bolte
Arranged By – Carlo Cantini (tracks: 3)
Baritone Saxophone, Bass Clarinet – Frank Delle
Bass – Michel Alibo
Conductor – Jörg Achim Keller
Design – Knut Schötteldreier
Drums – Simon Phillips
Executive-Producer [Ndr Bigband] – Axel Dürr, Stefan Gerdes
Guitar – Roland Cabezas
Keyboards – Vladyslav Sendecki
Mastered By – Marko Schneider
Percussion – Marcio Doctor
Percussion, Vocals, Composed By – Trilok Gurtu
Tenor Saxophone – Björn Berger, Lutz Büchner, Matthias Erlewein*
Trombone – Dan Gottshall, Ingo Lahme, Klaus Heidenreich, Stefan Lottermann
Trumpet – Ingolf Burkhardt, Phillip Kacza*, Stephan Meinberg, Thorsten Benkenstein


Label: Art Of Groove ‎– MIG 80012 CD, MIG ‎– MIG 80012 CD
Format: CD, Album
Country: Germany
Released: 2011
Recorded: May 21, 2010
Duration: 55:04
Recording location:
Drums ‘n’ Percussion Paderborn Festival, Heinz Nixdorf MuseumsForum, Paderborn, Germany
NDR Studio, Hamburg, Germany