Tina Brooks – Minor Move

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Minor Move is an album by American hard bop tenor Tina Brooks. It features performances by Brooks, Lee Morgan, Sonny Clark, Doug Watkins and Art Blakey. It was recorded on March 16, 1958, and was the first album Brooks recorded as a leader for the Blue Note label.

The Allmusic review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine awarded the album 4½ stars and stated “It is true that Minor Move is right within the hard bop tradition, but fans of that style will find much to treasure here.”

Track listing:
“Nutville” (Brooks) – 8:52
“The Way You Look Tonight” (Jerome Kern, Dorothy Fields) – 10:41
“Star Eyes” (Gene De Paul, Don Raye)- 8:15
“Minor Move” (Brooks) – 6:40
“Everything Happens to Me” (Matt Dennis, Tom Adair) – 6:10
“Minor Move” [Alternate Take] – 6:53 Bonus track on CD reissue

Tina Brooks – tenor saxophone
Lee Morgan – trumpet
Sonny Clark – piano
Doug Watkins – bass
Art Blakey – drums


Released: 1980
Recorded: March 16, 1958
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey
Length: 40:38
Label: Blue Note
GXF 3072 (1980)
Blue Note: 22671 (2000)
Producer: Alfred Lion