Thelonious Monk With John Coltrane (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Thelonious Monk with John Coltraneis a 1961 album by Thelonious Monk issued on Jazzland Records, a subsidiary of Riverside Records. It consists of material recorded four years earlier when Monk worked extensively with John Coltrane, issued after Coltrane had become a leader and jazz star in his own right.

The 2010 CD reissue was assembled by the label with material from three different sessions. The impetus for the album was the discovery of three usable studio tracks recorded by the Monk Quartet with Coltrane in July 1957 at the beginning of the band’s six-month residency at New York’s legendary Five Spot club near Cooper Square. To round out the release, producer Keepnews included two outtakes from the Monk’s Music album recorded the previous month, and one additional outtake from Thelonious Himself recorded in April.

The original LP contained the first 6 tracks, and was reissued in 2000 on Fantasy Records as part of its series for back catalogue using the JVC 20-bit K2 coding system. Because of the historical significance of this album it was inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame in 2007.


The Allmusic site awarded the album 5 stars, stating: “This will always be an essential item standing proudly among unearthed live sessions from Monk and Coltrane, demarcating a pivotal point during the most significant year in all types of music, from a technical and creative standpoint, but especially the jazz of the immediate future.”

Track listing (1961 LP):
Side one
“Ruby, My Dear” (Thelonious Monk) — 6:17
“Trinkle, Tinkle” (Thelonious Monk) — 6:37
“Off Minor” (Thelonious Monk) — 5:10
Side two
“Nutty” — (Thelonious Monk) 6:35
“Epistrophy” (Kenny Clarke, Monk) — 3:07
“Functional” — (Thelonious Monk) 9:46

Thelonious Monk — piano
John Coltrane — tenor saxophone
Ray Copeland — trumpet on “Off Minor” and “Epistrophy”
Gigi Gryce — alto saxophone on “Off Minor” and “Epistrophy”
Coleman Hawkins — tenor saxophone on “Off Minor” and “Epistrophy”
Wilbur Ware — bass on all except for “Functional”
Shadow Wilson — drums on “Ruby, My Dear”, “Trinkle, Tinkle” and “Nutty”
Art Blakey — drums on “Off Minor” and “Epistrophy”


Released: Early October 1961
Recorded: April 12, 1957
June 26, 1957
July, 1957
Length: 37:37
Label: Jazzland
Producer: Orrin Keepnews