The Shelly Manne Quintet And Big Band – Manne : That’s Gershwin !

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Manne–That’s Gershwin! is an album by drummer Shelly Manne featuring music by George Gershwin, recorded in 1965 and released on the Capitol label.

“Although not all that memorable, this music generally swings, leaves space for concise solos and is fairly fresh” (Scott Yanow, AllMusic).

Track listing:
All compositions by George and Ira Gershwin except as indicated

“By Strauss” – 2:53
“My Man’s Gone Now” (George Gershwin, DuBose Heyward) – 3:30
“Mine” – 3:55
“Love Is Here to Stay” – 2:31
“Summertime” (Gershwin, Heyward) – 3:55
“The Real American Folk Song (is a Rag)” – 2:45
“The Man I Love” – 5:23
“Prelude #2” (George Gershwin) – 2:37
“How Long Has This Been Going On?” – 2:33
“Theme from Concerto in F” (George Gershwin) – 2:55

Shelly Manne – drums
Conte Candoli, Lee Katzman, Larry McGuire, Al Porcino, Ray Triscari, Stu Williamson, Jimmy Zito – trumpet
Bob Edmondson, Frank Rosolino, Mike Barone – trombone
Richard Perissi, Vincent DeRosa – French horn
John Bambridge – tuba
Frank Strozier – alto saxophone
Jack Nimitz, Justin Gordon, Bud Shank – woodwinds
Russ Freeman – piano
Monty Budwig – bass
John Williams – musical director


Released: 1965
Recorded: February 24, 25 & 26, 1965
Capitol Studios in Hollywood, CA
Length: 43:36
Label: Capitol T/ST 2313
Producer: Dave Cavanaugh