The Don Thompson Quartet – Winter Mist (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Not content to merely be an expert pianist, bassist and drummer, Don Thompson sticks exclusively to vibes on this CD reissue; he is one of the few musicians who could overdub a tribute to the Modern Jazz Quartet by himself. Joined by some of Canada’s finest musicians (guitarist Reg Schwager, bassist Pat Collins and drummer Barry Elmes), Thompson performs five group originals and four standards during a lengthy live session. With Thompson emulating Milt Jackson on some tracks along with touches of Bobby Hutcherson, and Schwager’s dry guitar consistently recalling Jim Hall, this CD is very much in the modern mainstream of jazz.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic

Track listing:

1)”Nothin’ Changes” (B Elmes)(0:00)
2)”Ruby” (H Roemheld/M Parish)(7:41)
3)”Alone Together” (A Schwartz/H Dietz)(15:45)
4)”Winter Mist” (D Thompson)(27:00)
5)”Hannako” (R Schwager)(37:30)
6)”Moon Walk” (D Thompson)(43:47)
7)”What News” (R Schwager)(52:01)
8)”Never Let Me Go” (R Evans/J Livingston)(58:58)
9)”Blue Monk” (T Monk)(1:06:26)

Pat Collins – bass
Barry Elmes – drums
Reg Schwager – guitar
Don Thompson – vibraphone


Label: The Jazz Alliance – TJA-10004
Released: 1991
Recorded: April 21, 1990 – April 22, 1990
Country: US