The Chick Corea + Steve Gadd Band – Chinese Butterfly

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Chinese Butterfly is a double album by keyboardist Chick Corea and drummer Steve Gadd. The band is rounded out by saxophonist/flautist Steve Wilson, guitarist Lionel Loueke and bassist Carlitos del Puerto.

The Allmusic review by Matt Collar awarded the album 4½ stars and stated: “With both Corea and Gadd in their seventies at the time of recording, it’s refreshing to hear them sound so inventive and willing to explore new songs, even as they look back on their over 50-year partnership. Ultimately, it’s that vibrant, in-the-moment reciprocity that makes Chinese Butterfly such a compelling listen.”

Track listing:
CD one
1. “Chick’s Chums” John McLaughlin 9:23
2. “Serenity” Chick Corea 6:39
3. “Like I Was Sayin'” Corea 6:44
4. “A Spanish Song” Corea 8:51
5. “Chinese Butterfly” Corea 11:50
CD two
1. “Return to Forever” Corea 17:29
2. “Wake-Up Call” Corea, Lionel Loueke 18:13
3. “Gadd-Zooks” Corea 16:17

Chick Corea – keyboards, Yamaha CFX grand piano
Steve Gadd – drums
Lionel Loueke – guitars, vocals
Carlitos del Puerto – acoustic bass, electric bass
Steve Wilson – flute, saxophone
Luisito Quintero – percussion
Philip Bailey – vocals (track 6)


Released: November 22, 2017
Length: 1:35:00
Label: Stretch Records
Chick Corea/Bill Rooney/Steve Gadd