Thad Jones – Olio ( Full Album )

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Olio is an album by the Prestige All Stars nominally led by trumpeter Thad Jones recorded in 1957 and released on the Prestige label.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
Trumpeter Thad Jones receives first billing on this all-star outing, but vibraphonist Teddy Charles, who contributed three of the six selections (two of the other songs are by pianist Mal Waldron, while the lone standard is “Embraceable You”) was really the musical director. Jones, Charles, and Waldron are joined by Frank Wess (doubling on tenor and flute), bassist Doug Watkins, and drummer Elvin Jones for a set of modern hard bop. Although this was not a regular group and there is not an obvious leader, the music is on a higher level than that of a routine jam session. The challenging material and the high quality playing of the young greats makes this fairly obscure modern mainstream set (reissued on CD in 1998) well worth exploring.

Track listing:
All compositions by Teddy Charles except as indicated

“Potpourri” (Mal Waldron) – 6:04
“Blues Without Woe” – 7:58
“Touché” (Waldron) – 6:25
“Dakar” – 6:58
“Embraceable You” (George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin) – 4:17
“Hello Frisco” – 6:23

Thad Jones – trumpet
Frank Wess – flute, tenor saxophone
Mal Waldron – piano
Teddy Charles – vibraphone
Doug Watkins – bass
Elvin Jones – drums

Released: 1957
Recorded: February 16, 1957
Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey
Length: 38:05
Label: Prestige
PR 7084
Producer: Teddy Charles