Tadd Dameron – The Magic Touch

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Magic Touch is a 1962 album by jazz pianist and arranger Tadd Dameron and His Orchestra, released on Riverside Records. It was also Dameron’s final completed work before his passing three years later.

“The Magic Touch is a recording that all modern jazz lovers need to own and take further lessons from.” – Michael G. Nastos/AllMusic.



Track listing:
All songs composed by Dameron except where noted.

“On a Misty Night”
“Just Plain Talkin'”
“If You Could See Me Now” (Dameron, Sigman)
“Our Delight”
“Dial B for Beauty”
“Look, Stop and Listen ”
“Bevan’s Birthday”
“You’re a Joy”
“Swift as the Wind”

Tadd Dameron – Piano, Arranger, Conductor
Clark Terry – Trumpet
Ernie Royal – Trumpet
Charlie Shavers – Trumpet
Joe Wilder – Trumpet
Jimmy Cleveland – Trombone
Britt Woodman – Trombone
Julius Watkins – French Horn
Jerry Dodgion – Alto Sax, Flute
Leo Wright – Alto Sax, Flute
Jerome Richardson – Tenor Sax, Flute
Johnny Griffin – Tenor Sax
Tate Houston – Baritone Sax
Bill Evans – Piano
Ron Carter – Bass
George Duvivier – Bass
Philly Joe Jones – Drums
Barbara Winfield – Vocals (tracks 4, 9)


Released: 1962
Recorded: New York, February – April, 1962
Label: Riverside / Original Jazz Classics
Producer: Orrin Keepnews