Ricky Ford – Hard Groovin (Full album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Hard Groovin’ is an album by saxophonist Ricky Ford which was recorded in 1989 and released on the Muse label.

“The consistent tenor-saxophonist Ricky Ford, who was often the youngest player on the bandstand when he first emerged in the late ’70s, is easily the oldest musician on this energetic modern bop album. Trumpeter Roy Hargrove, pianist Geoff Keezer, bassist Bob Hurst and drummer Jeff “Tain” Watts are among the main Young Lions of the late ’80s and ’90s but Ford (heard on both alto and tenor) is easily the most impressive solo voice on this high-quality outing. Ford and his quintet perform five of his originals, a Geoff Keezer song and the standards “Jitterbug Waltz” and “Minority” with driving swing and personable creativity.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
Masaman” (Geoff Keezer) – 6:14
“Mr. C.P.” (Ricky Ford) – 5:45
“New Bop” (Ricky Ford) – 6:15
“DD Blues” (Ricky Ford) – 6:57
“Hard Groovin'” (Ricky Ford) – 5:33
“Fundamental Mood” (Ricky Ford) – 7:00
“Jitterbug Waltz” (Fats Waller) – 5:03
“Minority” (Gigi Gryce) – 4:23

Ricky Ford – tenor saxophone, alto saxophone
Roy Hargrove – trumpet
Geoff Keezer – piano
Robert Hurst – bass
Jeff “Tain” Watts – drums


Released: 1989
Recorded: February 24, 1989
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Length: 46:56
Label Muse
MR 5373
Producer: Don Sickler