Quincy Jones – Big Band Bossa Nova

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Big Band Bossa Nova is a 1962 bossa nova album by American impresario, jazz composer, trumpeter, arranger and record producer Quincy Jones and his band. It features the popular number “Soul Bossa Nova.” The title Big Band Bossa Nova was also used for three other 1962 albums, by Stan Getz, Oscar Castro-Neves and Enoch Light.

AllMusic Review by Scott Yanow:
A byproduct of the bossa nova fad that followed the success of “Desafinado” (and preceded the famous recording Getz/Gilberto), this set finds Quincy Jones utilizing and exploiting bossa nova rhythms in his arrangements for a big band. The personnel includes flügelhornist Clark Terry, altoist Phil Woods, pianist Lalo Schifrin, guitarist Jim Hall, and (on “Soul Bossa Nova”) the remarkable Rahsaan Roland Kirk. However, since the selections are all quite brief, and some of the charts are a bit cheesy and inappropriate for the gentle rhythms, this disc (although pleasant enough) is of lesser interest (https://www.allmusic.com/album/big-band-bossa-nova-mw0000601466).

Track listing:
1 “Soul Bossa Nova” Quincy Jones 2:44
2 “Boogie Stop Shuffle” Charles Mingus 2:41
3 “Desafinado” Antônio Carlos Jobim, Newton Mendonça 2:53
4 “Manhã De Carnaval (Morning Of The Carnival)” Luiz Bonfá, Antonio Maria 2:55
5 “Se É Tarde Me Perdoa (Forgive Me If I’m Late)” Ronaldo Boscoli, Carlos Lyra 4:21
6 “On the Street Where You Live” Frederick Loewe, Alan Jay Lerner 2:32
7 “One Note Samba (Samba De Uma Nota So)” Antônio Carlos Jobim, Newton Mendonça 2:00
8 “Lalo Bossa Nova” Lalo Schifrin 3:12
9 “Serenata” Leroy Anderson, Mitchell Parish 3:18
10 “Chega de Saudade (No More Blues)” Antônio Carlos Jobim, Vinicius de Moraes 5:30
11 “A Taste of Honey” Bobby Scott, Ric Marlow 2:56

Quincy Jones – Conductor, arranger
Phil Woods – Alto saxophone
Paul Gonsalves – Tenor saxophone
Roland Kirk – Flute, Alto flute
Jerome Richardson – Flute, Alto flute, Woodwinds
Clark Terry – Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Julius Watkins – French horn
Alan Raph – Bass trombone
Lalo Schifrin – Piano
Jim Hall – Guitar
Chris White – Bass
Rudy Collins – Drums
Jack Del Rio – Percussion
Carlos Gomez – Percussion
Jose Paula – Percussion


Released: 1962
Recorded: Aug-Sep 1962 at A&R Studios, NYC.
Length: 35:02
Label Mercury
Producer: Quincy Jones