Pony Poindexter With Booker Ervin ‎– Gumbo! (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Gumbo! is an album by saxophonists Pony Poindexter and Booker Ervin which was released on the Prestige label in 1963. The 1999 CD reissue added eight unreleased selections from earlier sessions, three led by Poindexter and five by Ervin.

“Tenor saxophonist Booker Ervin joined alto and soprano saxophonist Pony Poindexter in 1963 on Gumbo, based around the sights and sounds of Poindexter’s birthplace, the Crescent City. Poindexter penned the majority of these compositions, providing them with evocative titles of the city: “Creole Girl,” “French Market,” and “Gumbo Filet.” Gumbo finds Ervin playing more straight-ahead than on his exploratory “Book” sessions, which he had begun recording under his name by this time. The rhythm section on the first 12 cuts include Gildo Mahones on piano, George Tucker on bass, and Jimmie Smith on drums, with trombonist Al Grey making an appearance on four tracks. The remaining four tunes tacked on the CD’s conclusion were recorded in January and February 1964, featuring the trio of Ervin, Jerry Thomas on drums, and Larry Young’s distinctive Hammond organ virtuosity. “You Don’t Know What Love Is” (two takes), “Autumn Leaves,” and “Old Folks” had remained unreleased until the appearance of this CD in 1999.” – Al Campbell/AllMusic.

Track listing:
All compositions by Pony Poindexter except where noted.

“Front O’ Town” – 5:08
“Happy Strut” – 2:57
“Creole Girl” – 4:07
“4-11-44” – 2:59
“Back O’ Town” – 4:12
“Muddy Dust” – 4:32
“French Market” – 4:48
“Gumbo Filet” – 3:19

Pony Poindexter – alto saxophone, soprano saxophone
Booker Ervin – tenor saxophone
Al Grey – trombone (tracks 5-8)
Gildo Mahones – piano
George Tucker – bass
Jimmie Smith – drums


Released: 1963
Recorded: June 27, 1963
Studio: Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Label: Prestige
PR 16001
Producer: Ozzie Cadena