Phil Woods & Donald Byrd – The Young Bloods (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Young Bloods is an album by trumpeter Donald Byrd and saxophonist Phil Woods recorded in 1956 and released on the Prestige label.

The Allmusic review by Scott Yanow awarded the album 4 stars and stated “this is an easily recommended release (despite its brief LP length) for straight-ahead jazz collectors”.

Track listing:
“Dewey Square” (Charlie Parker) – 7:49
“Dupeltook” (Phil Woods) – 6:46
“Once More” (Phil Woods) – 5:05
“House of Chan” (Phil Woods) – 5:52
“In Walked George” (Phil Woods) – 5:07
“Lover Man” (Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, James Sherman) – 5:45

Donald Byrd – trumpet
Phil Woods – alto saxophone
Al Haig – piano
Teddy Kotick – bass
Charlie Persip – drums


Released: April 1957
Recorded: November 2, 1956
Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack
Length: 35:58
Label: Prestige
PRLP 7080
Producer: Bob Weinstock