Paul Motian ‎– Paul Motian And The Electric Bebop Band

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Paul Motian and the Electric Bebop Band is an album of bebop jazz standards by American drummer Paul Motian originally released on the German JMT label. It was the first release by the Electric Bebop Band, which featured the veteran drummer working mainly with younger musicians and subsequently became one of Motian’s primary groups until the end of his life.

Recorded in 1992, it was released in 1993 and features performances by Motian with Joshua Redman, Brad Schoeppach, Kurt Rosenwinkel and Stomu Takeishi. The album was rereleased on the Winter & Winter label in 2004.

“This intriguing set features Motian leading a group consisting of the young, great Joshua Redman on tenor, both Brad Schoeppach and Kurt Rosenwinkel on guitars, and bassist Stomu Takeishi. The ten songs on the CD (which include two straight versions of “Scrapple From the Apple”) are all bebop standards, but these versions are often a bit outside, a touch rock-ish, and quite unpredictable. The guitarists keep the music from ever getting too comfortable and it is quite interesting hearing Redman in this setting.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic.

Track listing:
“Shaw-Nuff” (Ray Brown, Gil Fuller, Dizzy Gillespie) – 6:05
“I Waited for You” (Fuller, Gillespie) – 5:20
“Dance of the Infidels” (Bud Powell) – 4:08
“Darn That Dream” (Jimmy Van Heusen, Eddie DeLange) – 3:58
“Hot House” (Tadd Dameron) – 6:53
“Dizzy Atmosphere” (Gillespie) – 2:47
“Scrapple from the Apple” (Charlie Parker) – 5:07
“Scrapple from the Apple” (Parker) – 5:01
“Monk’s Dream” (Thelonious Monk) – 6:07
“52nd Street Theme” (Monk) – 3:36

Paul Motian – drums
Joshua Redman – tenor saxophone
Brad Schoeppach – electric guitar (left side)
Kurt Rosenwinkel – electric guitar (right side)
Stomu Takeishi – electric bass


Released: February 25, 1993
Recorded: April 1992
Length: 48:23
Label: JMT
Producer: Stefan F. Winter