Paul Bley – Footloose!

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Footloose! is an album led by jazz pianist Paul Bley featuring tracks recorded in 1962 & 1963 and released on the Savoy label.

Allmusic described it as “one of Bley’s most enjoyable albums”. Rough Guide author Ian Carr calls the album “classic and highly influential” stating that the “quiet, focused intensity persists throughout.” Fellow pianist Keith Jarrett said he listened to the album “thousands of times.”

Track listing:
All compositions by Paul Bley, except as indicated

“When Will The Blues Leave” (Ornette Coleman) – 6:08
“Floater” (Carla Bley) – 6:23
“Turns” – 3:14
“Around Again” (Carla Bley) – 4:04
“Syndrome” (Carla Bley) – 7:07
“Cousins” – 4:39
“King Korn” (Carla Bley) – 3:57
“Vashkar” (Carla Bley) – 4:06

Paul Bley – piano
Steve Swallow – bass
Pete LaRoca – drums


Released: 1963
Recorded: August 17, 1962 and September 12, 1963
Studio: Medallion Studios, Newark, New Jersey
Length: 33:38
Label: Savoy
Producer: Fred Mendelsohn