Norman Connors – Dance Of Magic

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“Recorded with a who’s who of fusion titans including trumpeter Eddie Henderson, bassist Stanley Clarke, and keyboardist Herbie Hancock, Dance of Magic channels the lessons drummer Norman Connors learned in the employ of Pharoah Sanders, Sam Rivers, and Sun Ra, marshaling Latin rhythms, electronic textures, and cosmic mysticism to create nondenominational yet deeply spiritual funk-jazz. The sprawling 21-minute title cut spans the entirety of the record’s first half, capturing a monumental jam session that explores the outer edges of free improvisation but never steps past the point of no return. Connors’ furious drumming is like a trail of bread crumbs that leads his collaborators back home. The remaining three tracks are smaller in scale but no less epic in scope, culminating with the blistering “Give the Drummer Some.”” – Jason Ankeny/AllMusic.

Track listing:
A1 Dance Of Magic ….. 21:00
B1 Morning Change ….. 6:29
B2 Blue ….. 10:20
B3 Give The Drummer Some ….. 2:22


Norman Connors – (drums)
Herbie Hancock – (piano)
Carlos Garnett – (tenor & soprano sax)
Gary Bartz – (alto & soprano sax)
Eddie Henderson – (trumpet)
Art Webb – (flute)
Cecil McBee – (bass on A1 & B1)
Stanley Clarke – (bass)
Nat Bettis – (percussion, congas)
Anthony Wiles – (african percussion, baliphone)
Alphonse Mouzon – (percussion on tracks A1,B2)
Airto Moreira – (percussion on B3)
Billy Hart – (percussion on B1)


Label: Cobblestone – CST 9024
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo
Country: US
Released: June 26 & 27, 1972
Studio: Bell Sound Studios, New York