Milt Jackson – The Jazz Skyline (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


The Jazz Skyline is an album by American jazz vibraphonist Milt Jackson featuring performances recorded in 1956 and released on the Savoy label.

“This session has interest as an example of Milt Jackson’s mid-’50s work in a non-Modern Jazz Quartet context. And despite the many critical assertions that the vibist was restrained by pianist John Lewis’ direction, his playing here revealed no marked changed. The overall feel of the group (Lucky Thompson, tenor sax; Hank Jones, piano; Wendell Marshall; bass, Kenny Clarke, drums; Jackson, vibes), however, was somewhat more dynamic than that of The MJQ, as Clarke and Jones generally achieved a greater sense of forward momentum than Connie Kay or Lewis.” – Bob Rusch/AllMusic.


Track listing:
Lover” (Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers) – 7:45
Can’t Help Lovin’ Dat Man” (Oscar Hammerstein II, Jerome Kern) – 4:35
The Lady Is a Tramp” (Hart, Rodgers) – 7:18
Angel Face” (Nat Adderley) – 6:38
Sometimes I’m Happy” (Irving Caesar, Vincent Youmans) – 7:15
What’s New?” (Johnny Burke, Bob Haggart) – 3:51

Recorded in New York City on January 23, 1956

Milt Jackson – vibes
Lucky Thompson – tenor saxophone
Hank Jones – piano
Wendell Marshall – bass
Kenny Clarke – drums


Released: 1956
Recorded: January 23, 1956
Length: 37:22
Label Savoy