Michael Franks – Sleeping Gypsy

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Sleeping Gypsy is a jazz vocal album by Michael Franks, released in 1977 with Warner Bros. Records.

Allmusic awarded the album four stars and reviewer Jason Ankeny wrote:”A romantic, elegant and important album in bringing Brazilian music to a wider audience.”



Track listing:
All tracks are written by Michael Franks, unless otherwise stated

Side one
1. “The Lady Wants to Know” 4:45
2. “I Really Hope It’s You” 4:54
3. “In the Eye of the Storm” 5:55
4. “B’wana-He No Home” 4:57
Side two
1. “Don’t Be Blue” Michael Franks, John Guerin 3:28
2. “Antonio’s Song (The Rainbow)” 5:03
3. “Chain Reaction” Michael Franks, Joe Sample 5:14
4. “Down in Brazil” 4:33

Michael Franks – vocals
Joe Sample – keyboards (all tracks but “B’wana-He No Home” and “Down In Brazil”)
Wilton Felder – bass guitar
John Guerin – drums (all tracks but “B’wana-He No Home” and “Down In Brazil”)
Larry Carlton – guitar, lead guitar on “Down In Brazil”
David Sanborn – saxophone (3,5-7)
Michael Brecker – saxophone (1,2,4)
Larry Bunker – percussion
Ray Armando – percussion (1,3,4,6,8)
João Palma – drums on “B’wana-He No Home” and “Down In Brazil”
João Donato – piano on “B’wana-He No Home” and “Down In Brazil”
Hélio Delmiro – rhythm guitar on “B’wana-He No Home” and “Down In Brazil”
Claus Ogerman – strings arrangements, conductor
Israel Baker – concertmaster


22 January 1977 on vinyl, 1990 on CD
Length: 38:49
Label: Warner Bros.
Producer: Tommy LiPuma