Masaru Imada Nowin – Mint Breeze

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


Pianist Masaru Imada picks up some keyboards for this sweet 80s set – still keeping things in that warmly soulful style of some of his previous albums, but also opening up the groove too – thanks to some excellent guest work from Japanese jazz heavyweights Kazumi Watanabe on guitar and Toshiyuki Honda on alto, soprano sax, and flute! The set’s got more of a fusion vibe than some of Masaru’s 70s material, but still also has an acoustic ear at the heart – a sense of warmth and lyricism that holds strong throughout, on titles that include “On The Waves”, “Sunshine Blvd”, “Marine Diving”, “Mad Riding”, and “Pretty Skip”.

Track listing:

A1 Mint Breeze
A2 Daytona Beachway
A3 Pretty Skip
A4 Mad Riding
B1 Marine Diving
B2 Sunshine Blvd
B3 On The Waves
B4 Café Terasse


Alto Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Flute, Guest – Toshiyuki Honda
Artwork [Cover Art], Art Direction, Design – Hisao Sugiura
Composed By, Arranged By – Masaru Imada
Drum – Naobumi Noro
Electric Bass – Hiroaki Minami
Guitar – Nozomi Furukawa
Guitar, Guest – Kazumi Watanabe
Keyboards – Masaru Imada
Percussion – Shigeru Mizuno
Synthesizer – Akira Imada


Label: Polydor – 28MX 2502
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo
Country: Japan
Released: 1984