Mark Murphy – Sings The Nat King Cole Songbook Volume One (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


“This album (along with Vol. 2) finds Mark Murphy performing a rather unusual tribute to Nat King Cole. He utilizes the instrumentation of the King Cole Trio (piano, guitar and bass) but sings duets with each of the musicians individually, rather than using all of the players at once. Guitarist Joe LoDuca, keyboardist Gary Schunk and bassist Bob Magnusson are fine in support of the singer. Murphy explores such Cole-associated tunes as “Nature Boy/Calypso Blues,” “‘Tis Autumn” and “Lush Life.” It would have been nice if all of the musicians could have played together a bit, but the strong material and Murphy’s interpretive skills hold one’s interest throughout.” – Scott Yanow/AllMusic .

A1 Nature Boy / Calypso Blues
A2 Lover Letters / Serenata
A3 Oh You Crazy Moon
A4 ‘Tis Autumn
A5 I Keep Going Back To Joe’s
B1 Tangerine
B2 Lush Life
B3 Until The Real Thing Comes Along / Baby, Baby All The Time
B4 Never Let Me Go
B5 These Foolish Things


Mark Murphy


Label: Muse Records ‎– MR 5308
Format: Vinyl, LP
Country: US
Released: 1985
Recorded: October 8, 1983