Lionel Hampton And His Orchestra ‎– All American Award Concert (Full Album)

Thanks! Share it with your friends!


This All American Award Concert was held at Carnegie Hall on Sunday evening, April 15, 1945 to celebrate the victory of Lionel Hampton´s orchestra in the “New Star” division of the Esquire magazine´s annual critics poll. It was the occasion of one of Lionel´s greatest artistic triumphs and it is fortunate that the cream of the evening´s performances have been preserved for collectors.

Track listing:

A1 Hamp’s Blues 0:00
A2 I Know That You Know 3:35
A3 Loose Wig 6:28
A4 Hamp’s Boogie Woogie 11:32
B1 Oh, Lady Be Good 17:16
B2 Evil Gal Blues 22:47
B3 Red Cross 26:07
B4 Flying Home 29:48


  • Al Killian, Joe Morris, Wendell Culley, Lamar Wright Jr., Dave Page – trumpets
  • John Morris, Andrew Penn, Abdul Hamid, Alhayse – trombones
  • Herbie Fields, Gus Evans – alto-saxophones
  • Arnett Cobb, Jay Peters – tenor-saxophones
  • Charlie Fowlkes – baritone-saxophone
  • Milt Buckner – piano
  • William Mackel – guitar
  • CharlieHarris, Teddy Sinclair – basses
  • Fred Radcliffe – drums
  • Dinah Washington – vocal
  • Lionel Hampton – vibraphone, piano, drums, bandleader


Label: Decca ‎– DL 8088
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album
Country: US
Recorded: at Carnegie Hall, April 15, 1945.
Label: Jasmine Records ‎– JASM 1040
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Mono, Reissue
Country: UK
Label: Label: Cool Note
Released: 2008